www.sefindia.org

STRUCTURAL ENGINEERING FORUM OF INDIA [SEFI]

Forum SubscriptionsSubscriptions DigestDigest Preferences   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister FAQSecurity Tips FAQDonate
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log in to websiteLog in to websiteLog in to websiteLog in to forum 
Warning: Make sure you scan the downloaded attachment with updated antivirus tools  before opening them. They may contain viruses.
Use online scanners
here and here to upload downloaded attachment to check for safety.

how to ensure columns are vertical & aligned??

View previous topic :: View next topic  
PujanG
SEFI Member
SEFI Member

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 2:41 pm    Post subject: how to ensure columns are vertical & aligned?? Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm new to practicing engineering. I've come across minute things in practice , which we generally overlook during studies, that become great hindrance during construction.

Problem is: I'm unsure about the verticality of columns and their alignment. It's easier to assume a vertical column for design purpose but here I see it's rather hard to ensure so.

I request the experienced personnel put light on how the alignment & verticality of column is ensured during construction.

Thank you!

PS:
Condition is: Foundation has to be laid & column reinforcement be placed on it and ensured it's vertical & aligned prior to applying form-work & concreting.
Dr. N. Subramanian
General Sponsor
General Sponsor

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2012 2:42 pm    Post subject: Re: how to ensure columns are vertical & aligned?? Reply with quote

Dear Mr Pujan,

Simple Plum bob will show whether the column is vertical or not! The instrument has been used since  the time of ancient Egypt to ensure that constructions are "plumb", or vertical.

Best wishes
NS

PujanG wrote:
Hello,